Old 09-03-2017, 03:50 PM
geecee's Avatar
geecee geecee is offline
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: SOUTH MORANG - A northern suburb of Melbourne in the state of Victoria, Australia
Posts: 85
Thumbs up Emberwater Cup

The Emberwater Cup, a prestigious thoroughbred horse race run over 3,200 metres with a maximum field of 24 starters, is one of the most popular spectator events on the horse racing calendar. The Emberwater Cup qualification system qualifies horses based on a handicap and the final field is made up of the world’s best staying types with both local and international runners fighting it out for one of the richest handicap prizes each year. Whilst in other years, an international runner may have been successful, 1983 to 1987 was a consecutive period where a local runner took the honours.

The winning horses were Babbelute, Huckleberry, Kenda, Shadow Sparkle, and Wild Blossom.

The winning jockeys were Donovan Maxwell, Jon Slater, Marcelo Collier, Simon Padilla, and Wilson Foreman.

The winning times were 03:18.90, 03:20.58, 03:21.70, 03:22.00, and 03:23.00.

The number of starters were 19, 21, 22, 23, and 24.

The years, horses, jockeys, times, and number of starters do not necessarily relate to each other in the order listed.

From this information and the following clues, for each year, can you determine the winning horse, the jockey, the time, and the number of starters?

1. Wild Blossom ran in the field with the smallest number of runners.
2. Jon Slater rode the horse which finished in a time of 03:22.00, one second ahead of Babbelute.
3. The 1985 winner finished fastest in a field of 21 runners.
4. Donovan Maxwell rode in 1987 in a field just one runner short of the maximum.
5. Marcelo Collier was the winner one year before Simon Padilla who finished in the slowest time.
6. Babbelute won in neither 1983 nor 1986.
7. Huckleberry’s time was 03:18.90.
8. Shadow Sparkle ran a slower time in a field which had one less runner than that in which Kenda ran.
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:30 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

About Puzzle Baron

The Puzzle Baron family of web sites has served millions and millions of puzzle enthusiasts since its inception in 2006. From cryptograms to acrostics, logic puzzles to drop quotes, patchwords to wordtwist and even sudoku, we run the gamut in word puzzles, printable puzzles and logic games.