Old 12-17-2009, 08:21 PM

Unhappy Guessing ????

Hi all,
I'm fairly new to this. However, I'm improving. My questions are as follows:

Assume that you extract all possible info from the clues and completely use the grid to generate all possible data, then recheck any logical clues to find more data, etc.

1. Should you ever get to a point where you can only proceed by randomly choosing 1 of 2 possibilities for a given argument and playing it out to a successful conclusion or a logical contradiction and then going back to the other possibility to complete the puzzle?

2. If the answer to the first question is no, does that mean that I missed something in the clues and grid manipulations, and if so, what might be some subtle errors one might expect to see?

Thanks for any help with this
Old 12-18-2009, 12:50 AM

Default Also new

I have the following things for you to consider:

I would think that following up on a guess could work. However, they MUST give you enough information to solve the puzzle. The process of elimination should work sooner or later, but I have no idea how I'd be able to keep track of what I did.

I would recommend that you try easier puzzles until you get the hang of things. To find the easier puzzles, I have been noting the percentage of players that have completed a puzzle while it loads. If it's lower than say 65%, hit "new game" again until you get one with 65% or more finishers on it.
They tend to be the 4x4 puzzles. I've had one 5x5. I've also been reading the forums to pick up helpful tips.
Old 12-19-2009, 09:40 AM