#1  
Old 12-07-2013, 09:25 AM
bocci bocci is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 14
Default LG Optimus V doesn't like Logic Puzzles 2.0

I play mostly on my smartphone with stock browser. I'm having following issues with the new 2.0 website:

1. The puzzles load incompletely. Specifically, the individual items do not appear along the top of the puzzle. I can still manage to play, but because the clues often do not contain the names of all the persons in the leftmost columns. I first have to make several guesses in the upper-left area, then click on 'Answers' in order to learn the names of the persons involved. Then I must memorize them.

1.a. After learning the names I have to undo the guesses. If I had placed 'O's in squares 1-1, 2-2, 3-3, 4-4, and 5-5 in a 4x5 puzzle, I hoped that I could quickly go back and click the five 'O's for a fresh start. No! When the grid gets that populated and you click away an 'O', the autofilled 'X's do not disappear with it. So I either must single click all the 'O's and then double-click all the 'X's, or hit 'Restart the Puzzle'. I suppose hitting 'Undo' five times should work, For some reason I didn't think of it til just now.

(I realize 1.a. is almost moot if a puzzle loads correctly, but I thought the strange behavior was useful to report)

2. Most of the time, a single touch on a blank square causes a red 'X', a second touch causes the green 'O' (and the red 'X' autofill). However, maybe 25% of the time I get the 'O' and autofill on the first tap, which then either switches to a single 'X' or goes back to blank somewhat randomly.

3. Quite often, one tap gives me an 'X', a second tap gives me 'O' and autofill, which then disappears on its own after about a half second. So, I must re-enter.

4. Just simply erasing a misplaced 'X' or 'O' can sometimes be impossible. Clicking through a normal sequence ought to give you 'X', then 'O', then blank
But, I often experience the sequence 'X', 'O', 'X', 'O', 'X'...for very long stretches without a blank appearing.

5. The 'Submit Answer' button rarely works on the first tap.

Obviously these problems make playing very difficult and very slow.

Last edited by bocci; 12-07-2013 at 09:40 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-07-2013, 09:47 AM
admin's Avatar
admin admin is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 153
Default

Hi bocci -

Is it possible for you to use a different browser in your phone - i.e. Chrome or Firefox? I'm not sure what the stock browser is, but it sounds from your description as though it doesn't support many of the basic functions the new site requires. I'll do some more digging on it though.

In the meantime, we've archived the old site at http://old.logic-puzzles.org - and you are always free to use that on your phone until we can get the issue resolved.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-07-2013, 10:00 AM
bocci bocci is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 14
Default

Thank you, I look into changing browsers but maybe first try updating the one I have. Will play archived version in the meantime.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

About Puzzle Baron

The Puzzle Baron family of web sites has served millions and millions of puzzle enthusiasts since its inception in 2006. From cryptograms to acrostics, logic puzzles to drop quotes, patchwords to wordtwist and even sudoku, we run the gamut in word puzzles, printable puzzles and logic games.