Logic Puzzle Forums

Logic Puzzle Forums (http://www.logic-puzzles.org/forum/index.php)
-   Comments, Bugs and Feature Requests (http://www.logic-puzzles.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Ads make it impossible (http://www.logic-puzzles.org/forum/showthread.php?t=342)

FatMickHead 12-13-2013 12:16 PM

Ads make it impossible
 
to read the hints. The almond ad is on top of the hint, with no way to make it go away.

LGramlich 12-13-2013 04:33 PM

After the change I didn't have this problem, but it started for me, too, last night.

Quote:

Originally Posted by FatMickHead (Post 1457)
to read the hints. The almond ad is on top of the hint, with no way to make it go away.


admin 12-13-2013 05:09 PM

I've located the source of the almond ad and have scheduled it to be removed from rotation - hopefully soon. Are you seeing this happening with any other ads, or is that the main culprit?

JulieC 12-27-2013 02:03 PM

1 Attachment(s)
I am seeing an ad overlap issue with which whatever the left bottom ad is. I can tell what it says, but a clue would be harder to read.

Firefox 26.0 on Windows 8, screenshot taken 4pm on 12/27/2013.

Alethea 12-27-2013 10:11 PM

I'm using Google Chrome, and I'm seeing it with the California Milk ad as well. It seems to be whatever video ad is playing in the bottom left corner. The static ad just to the right of it never has an overlap issue from what I can tell.

aglaea 12-28-2013 11:40 AM

grid and clues not displayed on same frame
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by admin (Post 1460)
I've located the source of the almond ad and have scheduled it to be removed from rotation - hopefully soon. Are you seeing this happening with any other ads, or is that the main culprit?

The space used for header and ad take up so much space that all the clues cannot be displayed on the same frame as the grid, unless the font is 100% or lower. I have sent in this issue previously. There are many ways the spacing of clues and grid could be displayed so they could be seen on same frame. The oinly games I can play are 3 x 4, or 3 x 5. Could you please correct this.

Offtune Angel 01-25-2014 06:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by aglaea (Post 1536)
The space used for header and ad take up so much space that all the clues cannot be displayed on the same frame as the grid, unless the font is 100% or lower. I have sent in this issue previously. There are many ways the spacing of clues and grid could be displayed so they could be seen on same frame. The oinly games I can play are 3 x 4, or 3 x 5. Could you please correct this.

I, too, experience this problem, primarily with 4 x 7. Those of us who require larger print because of aging eyesight are effectively being punished for getting old. Any (viable) suggestions? (p.s. Eyesight recently checked and prescription updated -- so I've done my part ;) )

Jacque 01-25-2014 11:55 PM

What browser are you using? A few different things you can do - if you're using google chrome - simply go to the extensions (you should be able to google it) and choose the adblock (which you don't have to pay for) to block the ads :) , then depending on screen size - adjust the slider on the right side of your screen to where you need the puzzle positioned -

good luck!

sunrise 01-26-2014 04:20 AM

On the more complex, or rather largest number of separate clues, it happens even after you have paid to not have ads.

What I do is run the clues first for the no-brainers, A=B or A is not B and click on them to move them to used clues.

sunrise 01-26-2014 05:35 AM

Change fixed width on active clues
 
I know the answer - change the Active Clues box to not be "fixed width" - then we could drag it wider when we needed to,.


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:44 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.